Collected Later Stories

Collected Later Stories

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Penguin Putnam
The Library of America presents the second of two volumes in its definitive Updike collection. Here are 84 classic stories that display the virtuosic command of character, dialogue, and sensual description that was Updike’s signature.. Based on new archival research, each story is presented in its final definitive form and in order of composition, established here for the first time.

Baker & Taylor
Collects some of the author's short stories from the later portion of his career.

& Taylor

The second of two volumes in this definitive collection of work from the author of the The Witches of Eastwick includes over 80 of his short stories from the latter part of his life, in chronological order.
"Of the eighty-four stories gathered here, fifty-three first appeared in The New Yorker. Most were revised by the author for his collections Problems (1979), Trust Me (1987), The Afterlife (1994), Licks of Love (2000), and My Father's Tears (2009). All were written from 1976 to 2008, when Updike was in his mid-forties to mid-seventies, and are arranged here, for the first time, in the order in which they were completed. Each is offered in its latest, definitive text, and some incorporate posthumous corrections found in Updike's personal copies of his books"--

Publisher: New York : Library Of America, c2013
ISBN: 9781598532524
Characteristics: ix, 994 p. ; 21 cm
Additional Contributors: Carduff, Christopher


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at SSFPL

To Top