The Stolen Child

The Stolen Child

A Novel

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
"From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants' lives and tangled relationships--perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter. May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid's Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island's natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to--until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle's cottage. Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She's seeking a secret holy well that's rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities--or perhaps because of them--Emer fears that she won't be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer's. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters' lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever. Steeped in Irish history and lore, The Stolen Child is a mesmerizing descent into old world beliefs, and a captivating exploration of desire, myth, motherhood, and love in all its forms." -- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York :, Harper Perennial,, [2017]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9780062492180
0062492187
Characteristics: 373, 15 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Miranda_Ericsson Nov 20, 2017

A lovely and haunting read, lyrically written, scenic, and alive with magic.
Brigid is named for a saint, but her powers are otherworldly. In search of a miracle, she moves to a remote Irish island where her ancestors made their home, a place once inhabited only by women and still filled with their relics. Once established in her family's abandoned home, she strikes up a relationship that could do her more harm than good.
I loved the focus on women and women's relationships, and the nature magic that spun through the whole story. I'll definitely be reading more of Carey's work.

b
becker
Feb 01, 2017

The setting is a sparsely populated island off of Ireland. The people who reside here, live their lives by the rules of superstition and folklore. The atmosphere is often stormy and foreboding. The lines between myth and reality were blurry. I love this kind of story. It was a good read for me.

Nicr Jan 29, 2017

A women's novel, with meticulously realized characters and deft incorporation of magic.

g
Gyngersnap
Dec 29, 2016

I am so excited that Lisa Carey has written another book! I have been a big fan and have missed her greatly in the last few years. Can't wait to get this book when it is published in January.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SSFPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top