EXCELLENT WOMEN

EXCELLENT WOMEN

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
10
Rate this:
Penguin Putnam

 

Excellent Women is one of Barbara Pym’s richest and most amusing high comedies. Mildred Lathbury is a clergyman’s daughter and a mild-mannered spinster in 1950s England. She is one of those “excellent women,” the smart, supportive, repressed women who men take for granted. As Mildred gets embroiled in the lives of her new neighbors—anthropologist Helena Napier and her handsome, dashing husband, Rocky, and Julian Malory, the vicar next door—the novel presents a series of snapshots of human life as actually, and pluckily, lived in a vanishing world of manners and repressed desires.

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

Baker & Taylor
A subtle comedy about life and its complications chronicles the experiences of spinster Mildred Lathbury, who tends to become involved in other people's affairs, set in England during the 1950s. Reprint. 20,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York : Penguin, 2006
ISBN: 9780143104872
014310487X

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
MissSnippy
Jul 20, 2017

Wonderful British spinster novel filled with quirky characters and the quiet observations of a curate's daughter who has to share the bathroom with more exciting neighbors.

LPL_MeredithW Jan 28, 2017

A quiet, wry, slice-of-life novel of manners about competent, observant Mildred Lathbury, a single woman who gets swept up in the intrigues of her neighbors in post WWII-England, I would recommend “Excellent Women” for fans of Jane Austen or Stella Gibbons. One word of warning: if you need a strong plot, this isn't the book for you. But if you're character-focused, definitely give this a try!

k
kathylou
Aug 18, 2016

dated? did you notice it was set in the 1950's?
I found it amusing, ironic, and truthful.

e
Eosos
Apr 01, 2015

An eminently likeable story with likeable characters and a nice setting. It was not an inspiring read for me but it is enjoyable to hang out with these characters in 1950s England for a few hours.

WVMLStaffPicks Nov 13, 2014

Every reader should have a favourite author to return to after weathering a succession of less than satisfactory new books. Mine is Barbara Pym. Read enough issues of Staff Picks and you will likely encounter most of her ten novels. This one is the story of the capable, unmarried Mildred, just past thirty and on her way to becoming an “excellent woman” in her London parish. An appreciative observer, she excels at getting involved in others’ lives instead of her own-until the charming, carefree Rocky moves into the apartment downstairs. Once again Pym’s comic flair and eye for the absurdities of human behaviour bring to centre stage those individuals usually regarded as too insignificant for fiction.

v
vickder
Oct 08, 2014

I wanted to like this book but it felt very dated and the characters did not interest me.

e
Evilida
May 28, 2014

I love all of Barbara Pym's novels. Her novels are witty, funny, perceptive and kind-spirited. (This kind spirit this generosity towards ALL her characters, is where she differs from Jane Austen, who tends to be much too fond of her main characters and too unpleasantly judgemental of all others.) Barbara Pym is a hidden treasure. You don't have to be a fan of romances to enjoy them. They "work" just as well as deliciously observant social portraits of a particular time and place

New reader to Pym. What a treat. Truly a novel of manners but of more recent times. In 100 year people, who want to understand the inestimable social changes after WWII, will read Pym and get a micro sample of life of women when men were scarce and spinsterhood ceased to become a curse.

m
macierules
Dec 13, 2012

Strangely, this book didn't seem dated to me. The concept of "excellent" women is still alive today, including several of them in my own family.

hgeng63 Sep 10, 2012

If you've never read Barbara Pym before, this is the one to start with! The Jane Austen of 1950's Britain.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

  Loading...

Find it at SSFPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top