The Jane Austen Project

The Jane Austen Project

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Arriving in 1815 London, two time travelers from a technologically advanced future, a disaster-relief doctor and an actor-turned-scholar posing as wealthy West Indies planters, infiltrate Jane Austen’s inner circle to recover a suspected unpublished novel, but when a special friendship forms between them all, they must make a tough choice.

HARPERCOLL

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel.

London, 1815: Two travelers—Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane—arrive in a field in rural England, disheveled and weighed down with hidden money. Turned away at a nearby inn, they are forced to travel by coach all night to London. They are not what they seem, but rather colleagues who have come back in time from a technologically advanced future, posing as wealthy West Indies planters—a doctor and his spinster sister. While Rachel and Liam aren’t the first team from the future to “go back,” their mission is by far the most audacious: meet, befriend, and steal from Jane Austen herself.

Carefully selected and rigorously trained by The Royal Institute for Special Topics in Physics, disaster-relief doctor Rachel and actor-turned-scholar Liam have little in common besides the extraordinary circumstances they find themselves in. Circumstances that call for Rachel to stifle her independent nature and let Liam take the lead as they infiltrate Austen’s circle via her favorite brother, Henry.

But diagnosing Jane’s fatal illness and obtaining an unpublished novel hinted at in her letters pose enough of a challenge without the continuous convolutions of living a lie. While her friendship with Jane deepens and her relationship with Liam grows complicated, Rachel fights to reconcile the woman she is with the proper lady nineteenth-century society expects her to be. As their portal to the future prepares to close, Rachel and Liam struggle with their directive to leave history intact and exactly as they found it…however heartbreaking that may prove.

 

 



Publisher: Perennial,, 2017
ISBN: 9780062651266
0062651269
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: Baker & Taylor Axis 360
Alternative Title: Axis 360 eBooks

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

d
dreams_in_blue
Oct 10, 2017

Wish this would have been written better. From the over convoluted sentences, to the characters who didn't really have much of a depth, plus the fact of that 'ending' yeah, I'm not impressed. I was excited to read it but unfortunately it ended up in the "meh" pile.

s
Ssaaddy
Oct 01, 2017

Thiught this book would be more literary than it was. Started not too bad but then turned into chick lit and eventually more sex than lit and went off the rails after that. Cannot recommend it.

m
miraellie
Sep 01, 2017

Pretty awesome wish-fulfillment with bonus focus on social justice issues. The science and world-building doesn't entirely hold up at times, but I appreciate that there was some thought put into it, instead of just handwaving it as some time-traveling books do. I did enjoy how Rachel had to win over Jane Austen and they didn't just become immediate best friends forever. Minus points for there being jokes that a rude servant is possibly gay, and for a somewhat anticlimatic ending.

c
coroboreefarm
Jul 24, 2017

Time travel and Jane Austen...the perfect summer read. I thoroughly enjoyed this unique look at the life and times of Jane Austen as viewed from the perspective of two time travelers from a distant future. Mysteries regarding Jane's fatal illness and an unpublished novel add to the plot and heighten the suspense as the time travelers race against precious time to the closure of the portal they passed through to enter Regency England. Difficult choices about whether to change history or not must be made. This is an interesting and unusual sci-fi take on the Jane Austen story, and should please lovers of her work and times.

debwalker May 31, 2017

Fun Austen read for the summer - time travel back to Jane world!

m
marthabwaters
May 21, 2017

​The fun thing about time travel books is that I think they do a much better job at conveying the total strangeness of the past than a lot of historical fiction does, because the setting is portrayed through the eyes of a person not of that era. This is clearly quite well-researched, with a lot of period detail that I really appreciated. Flynn also clearly knows her Austen, and it was interesting to see her take on her life. I thought the sci-fi elements of the time travel itself could have been more well-developed, and the romantic subplot could have felt less -- I dunno... obligatory? But I'd certainly recommend this to Jane Austen fans who haven't yet wearied of the 5,000 or so literary tributes to her. It's a fun read.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SSFPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top