The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind

The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind

My Tale of Madness and Recovery

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
"As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness--only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettablelessons about the brain and mind. In January 2015, Barbara Lipska--a leading expert on the neuroscience of mental illness--was diagnosed with melanoma that had spread to her brain. Within months, her frontal lobe, the seat of cognition, began shutting down. She descended into madness, exhibiting dementia- and schizophrenia-like symptoms that terrified her family and coworkers. But miraculously, just as her doctors figured out what was happening, the immunotherapy they had prescribed began to work. Just eight weeks after her nightmare began, Lipska returned to normal. With one difference: she remembered her brush with madness with exquisite clarity. In The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind, Lipska describes her extraordinary ordeal and its lessons about the mind and brain. She explains how mental illness, brain injury, and age can change our behavior, personality, cognition, and memory. She tells what it is like to experience these changes firsthand. And she reveals what parts of us remain, even when so much else is gone"-- Provided by publisher.
In January 2015, Lipska-- a leading expert on the neuroscience of mental illness-- was diagnosed with melanoma that had spread to her brain. Within months her frontal lobe began shutting down. She descended into madness, exhibiting dementia- and schizophrenia-like symptoms. But miraculously the prescribed immunotherapy began to work. Here Lipska describes her ordeal and its lessons about the mind and brain.
Publisher: Boston :, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt,, 2018
ISBN: 9781328787309
1328787303
Characteristics: xix, 188 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: McArdle, Elaine - Author

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
b
brittaknee
Jun 17, 2018

Couldn't convince myself to finish this memoir. The first chapter caught my interest, but it was soon lost as the author spent too much time elaborating on her life. If you are looking for an interesting memoir related to the brain... check out either 'Brain on Fire' or 'My Stroke of Insight.'

l
lilypad_1
Jun 07, 2018

Very, very interesting memoir about a woman who studies brains and then gets brain cancer, loses brain functions- and then gets them back. This is really fascinating whether you have had cancer, mental illness, are interested in brain function, cancer treatment and the toll it takes on patients and families. Thumbs up!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SSFPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top